Labor and Delivery.

It was finally my due date, August 13, 2012, though I had been ready to have my baby for about a month. I went to my doctor’s appointment and I was still only dilated to a one, the same as the week before. We discussed planning an induction and trying gel medication to make me go into labor, but my fiancé and I wanted it to come naturally, so I got a membrane strip instead. I went back home, put on my PJs, and watched the Notebook, feeling as though I would be pregnant forever.

The next morning I woke up to regular contractions. At 9 AM, I was timing them at 8 minutes apart. I called my doctor and she said to wait until they were five minutes apart or when my water broke to go to the hospital. My sister, who gave birth to the best nephew in the world almost five years ago, told me to try to stay home as long as possible. So I tried to relax, even though I was SO excited to finally hold my baby boy. Dylan cleaned the whole house, cooked me delicious meals, and got me my FAVORITE pregnancy snack, an M&M and Oreo McFlurry. I watched movies and timed my contractions all day.

At 8 PM that night, my contractions were 5 minutes apart. I decided to wait an hour to be sure, following the 5-1-1 rule (5 minutes apart, 1 minute long, for 1 hour).

At 9 PM, we were preparing to leave. As Dylan was grabbing our hospital bag and making sure our animals would be okay for the night, I felt a big POP! in my belly. I looked down and yelled “MY WATER BROKE!” Dylan smiled with excitement and helped me get into the car. On the 5 minute drive to the hospital, I had multiple contractions realizing they were pretty close together now! (And a lot more painful!)

We got to the hospital and were immediately taken to the first room of labor. As soon as I changed into the gown, I asked the nurse for my epidural. The contractions were very powerful now and I couldn’t wait to have some relief. She told me as soon as we go to the next room, they will be waiting to give it to me. “That’s going to be soon right?!” I asked her. I was dilated to a 4 at this point.

It was 10 PM when we moved to the next room. I was in so much pain and tried to remember what I had learned in class to help with labor and contractions, but NONE of it worked! I felt nauseas and kept asking for my epidural. Dylan was so great, he was calm, attentive, and his presence made me feel much better. As a big contraction would start, I would say “I can do this… I can do this…” but as it would peak, much louder I was saying, “I CAN’T DO THIS!!”

Finally, the guy with the epidural entered the room. I could barely sit still at this point. The nurse checked me one last time and told me “I was ready.” I thought she meant for the epidural, and I thought “I’ve been ready for over an hour!!”

But then she said “You are ready to push. You’re about to deliver. You can’t have the epidural.” My heart dropped when she said this.

“No, I can have the epidural. I planned on getting it. He’s right there. I can have it.” I said this with panic.

“Even if you could sit still, you still can’t have it. You are ready to push.” She told me.

“But I CAN sit still, SEE!” Instantly, I calmed my whole body and tried to appear like I was “just fine.”

The epidural guy came up to me and said “I am so sorry, but I can’t give it to you. You are about to have your baby. You will be okay.”

The doctors entered the room and I finally came to the realization that I was going to do this completely naturally.

At 11:14 PM, about 30 minutes later, Liam Hunter Blau was born weighing 7 lbs. 6 ounces, 21 ½ inches long. The most amazing little thing I had ever laid my eyes on.

Dylan cut the umbilical cord, kissed me, and told me I was his hero.

They immediately handed me my sweet baby boy. As I held the entire world in my arms, I told little Liam “We did it. I love you so much.”

He is more than worth everything I went through, I wouldn’t change a thing, and I would do it all over again if I had to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Labor and Delivery.

  1. ogpeelar says:

    I didn’t know you did it NATURAL!!!! GOOD GOD baby Herron!!!! Hes so prefect though. 🙂 I’m happy for you

Leave a Reply

